Adirondack Editing Logo

Friendly, Dependable, and Professional!—Contact Us Today!

Michael J. McFadden: TobakkoNacht - Fighting The Antismokers' Endgame

Susan has worked with me in great detail on a rather complex book project for several months. We are now drawing to an end and about ready to put a stamp of "FINIS!" on it.

1) I've been absolutely amazed at the amount of detailed help she's given me in my writing. When I wrote my first book, back almost ten years ago, I utilized nothing except my own eyes and those of a couple of friends for editing. While I think I did quite well with it, I can only imagine how much better it would have been if I'd had Susan involved!

2) As much as it'll be nice for me to stamp my own "Finis!" on the writing part of the work on my current baby, I'll miss the emails with Susan. One of the "editing recommend" choices given here is "Personable: works well with colleagues and clients" and she most certainly fills that category to perfection. She actually enjoys her work and the interactive discussions over debatable style issues and such, and it shows through clearly in her emails. There's never a sense of "Look, I told you what the rules were. That's my job here. Take it or leave it." If we've disagreed over some particularly arcane/obscure usage of a term or concept and I've put forth a good argument as to why I've chosen a particular approach and feel it's correct she's actually pleased to have learned something new rather than annoyed that I didn't just take "professional advice." The relationship felt far more like having an in-depth and interesting discussion with a knowledgeable friend than like the impersonal editing red-ink experience that I was expecting.

3) As noted at the start here, my book is rather complex: different styles in different sections, fiction/nonfiction, chatty/fun and hard science/numbers, tables and graphs mixed with satires about evil and sentient curls of crawling death -- not an easy mix for someone to competently grasp well enough for true copy/concept-editing if they don't already have a strong background in the subject area. When I started working with Susan I didn't expect much beyond the usual "red circles around typos" level of editing. I was deeply and most pleasantly surprised.

So, overall, Susan certainly gets five stars from me and I'd highly recommend her to anyone!

March 23, 2013

Year first hired: 2012


The third party directing the editing and formatting of The Amélie Mary Elizabeth Mysteries

Please find attached my post-edited version of the book. Can I just say I’ve really enjoyed the editor's work? It was sensitive, funny, and genuinely very helpful—almost like talking to a friend!

December 2015

Year first hired: 2015


Lynne Fitzhugh: Mikak

Susan responded quickly to my inquiry, tailored her editing services to my needs, carefully evaluated a long and difficult manuscript, and produced several useful reports in a timely manner at what I consider a bargain rate. I recommend her highly.

December 30, 2013

Year first hired: 2013


Kameron Bryant-Sergejev: I Never Went to School

I had just completed the first draft of my memoir when I ran into Susan on the LI group Aspiring Authors. As a first-time author, I wanted to go through the process of editing my manuscript with someone who acted as a mentor and teacher, so I could learn as much as possible. Susan offers Tier 4, which starts with a manuscript evaluation and developmental edit and ends with a thorough copyedit and proofread. After I saw Susan’s sample edit, I knew I was in the right place. She didn’t let anything slip by, but she wasn’t brutal in her comments.

Now, having completed the edits and mentorship under Susan’s accurate eyes, I can actually be confident in presenting my book to literary agents and publishers. For the money I spent, I got a solid manuscript and a better understanding of what I need to work on as a writer—not to mention all the tiny grammatical details to watch out for. At all times Susan was very professional, while remaining completely approachable. I’m sure I’ll be a repeat client!

December 18, 2015

Year first hired: 2015; hired more than once


Israel Vicente: Divergent Lives

I recommend Susan at Adirondack Editing for detailed and helpful editing for any manuscript. Susan worked on one of my books, Divergent Lives, and did an excellent job in giving my manuscript a most professional review and recommending enhancements that I was very pleased with. I look forward to working with her again on a future project.

July 6, 2016

Year first hired: 2014


Eujane La Matt: Mist of Ereven

I highly recommend Susan as a professional editor. She has been a huge help to me with regards to editing my fantasy novel, Mist of Ereven. Susan is reliable, honest, and has high standards. I shall have no problems in employing her affordable services with any future projects.

February 19, 2015

Year first hired: 2015


Mary Shepherd: The Adventures of Molly and Her Dollies

Susan worked very closely with me throughout my entire manuscript. She was very thorough and positive with critiquing. It has been a pleasure working with her. I will be working with her soon on my second book. I would highly recommend Susan. I met her in person at an author convention. I'm so glad we found each other.

February 25, 2013

Year first hired: 2012


Jo Ann Bender: Casanova Cowboy

Thank you, Susan, for these magnificent gifts. You have not only given this writer a more readable story, but also restored my urge to write. Plus, you are affordable.

November 30, 2015

Year first hired: 2015


Gregory D. Johnson: Terror in the Heartland

Susan Uttendorfsky, d/b/a/ Adirondack Editing, asked me for a letter of reference. She has been editing my fiction novel for six months. She has done everything she said she would do. I hold her in very high regard.

In my opinion, Susan is extremely well versed in the rules of classical writing, which are very different from the conversational tone used by many beginning authors. She references her corrections so the writer can learn from published instructional works.

If a would-be author wants to write correctly, can take criticism in the well-intended spirit in which it is given, and increase his or her chances of being selected for publishing by the major publishers, Susan can and will help.

As for me, I am committed to achieving the classical style Susan uses for her benchmark. I am so committed because I believe in Susan and the documented correctness of her editing. If choosing Susan, prospective writers need to be willing to "significantly change, add and delete" work they believe is bordering on greatness to the extent that when finished it may not look like their original work. I have often thought Susan limited her author's creativity due to her inflexibility. Yet each time she has been proven right. If you want unbridled adoration, have it edited by a close friend but don't waste Susan's time. Pay someone to publish your work and lay claim to "being published", but you probably won't sell many books and future generations won't know your name.

In conclusion, if one wants to be a serious writer whose work is of the quality that may be considered by major publishers, then I highly recommend Susan Uttendorfsky. It is sometimes painful to have one's work corrected because she wants and demands excellence from her writers and, thus, pulls no punches. If you want a good book to become great, critical editing is a must and I know of none better or more (sometimes brutally) honest than Susan Uttendorfsky.

July 16, 2012

Year first hired: 2012


Mary Sentoza: You Aren't Alone: My Challenges with a Mild Intellectual Disability

I completed my memoir book. Susan has helped me a lot and provided many helpful suggestions. She fixed my sources, footnotes, and anything else in order to look more professional. When I wasn't sure about something, she explained it to me. It was a great experience dealing with Susan and [I] would definitely contact her again.

January 12, 2014

Year first hired: 2013

Refresh to See More

View Our Project List!


Based in the United States.


adirondackediting@gmail.com

Protected by Copyscape

© 2013-2017 All Rights Reserved