Adirondack Editing Logo

Friendly, professional, and dependable...   
I think that says it all!      
Contact Us Today         

Harlem Quill: Gypsy Train

I highly recommend Susan as a professional book editor. She edited my book, Gypsy Train, and has done an excellent job.

March 27, 2015

Year first hired: 2015


Israel Vicente: Divergent Lives

I recommend Susan at Adirondack Editing for detailed and helpful editing for any manuscript. Susan worked on one of my books, Divergent Lives, and did an excellent job in giving my manuscript a most professional review and recommending enhancements that I was very pleased with. I look forward to working with her again on a future project.

July 6, 2016

Year first hired: 2014


Raphyel M. Jordan: Evaluations of the Tribe

Having an editor like Susan will make your future projects profound! She's the sort of individual who will make a good story a great one, knowing how to bring out the deepest aspects of one's writing.

April 3, 2013

Year first hired: 2013; hired more than once


Deborah Wise: Some Secret Place

I chose Susan as my editor because for a year I read her blogs giving advice to writers, and found them more helpful than anything else I read. When I initially contacted her, she made it obvious that she was ready and eager to meet my exact needs.

The editing service she subsequently provided was prompt, thorough, and within my budget. I have found working with Susan to be an enjoyable experience above and beyond my expectations.

July 25, 2014

Year first hired: 2014


Donalie Beltran: Murder is a Family Affair

Susan is extremely professional and gets the job done on time. She is thorough and knowledgeable. I would recommend her services to any person who needed their manuscript edited.

October 13, 2013

Year first hired: 2013


Samantha Peterson: Dynam

Susan is an incredibly detail-oriented and personable editor. I hired her for the first time a few weeks ago, and was impressed with the responsiveness, professionalism, and expeditiousness with which she worked through my manuscript. I will use Susan again in the future, and cannot recommend her highly enough!

August 24, 2013

Year first hired: 2013; hired more than once


Gregory D. Johnson: Terror in the Heartland

Susan Uttendorfsky, d/b/a/ Adirondack Editing, asked me for a letter of reference. She has been editing my fiction novel for six months. She has done everything she said she would do. I hold her in very high regard.

In my opinion, Susan is extremely well versed in the rules of classical writing, which are very different from the conversational tone used by many beginning authors. She references her corrections so the writer can learn from published instructional works.

If a would-be author wants to write correctly, can take criticism in the well-intended spirit in which it is given, and increase his or her chances of being selected for publishing by the major publishers, Susan can and will help.

As for me, I am committed to achieving the classical style Susan uses for her benchmark. I am so committed because I believe in Susan and the documented correctness of her editing. If choosing Susan, prospective writers need to be willing to "significantly change, add and delete" work they believe is bordering on greatness to the extent that when finished it may not look like their original work. I have often thought Susan limited her author's creativity due to her inflexibility. Yet each time she has been proven right. If you want unbridled adoration, have it edited by a close friend but don't waste Susan's time. Pay someone to publish your work and lay claim to "being published", but you probably won't sell many books and future generations won't know your name.

In conclusion, if one wants to be a serious writer whose work is of the quality that may be considered by major publishers, then I highly recommend Susan Uttendorfsky. It is sometimes painful to have one's work corrected because she wants and demands excellence from her writers and, thus, pulls no punches. If you want a good book to become great, critical editing is a must and I know of none better or more (sometimes brutally) honest than Susan Uttendorfsky.

July 16, 2012

Year first hired: 2012


Kate Hellmers: 50 Energetic Prayers

Susan is an amazing editor. She is detailed, professional, accurate, so reasonably priced, and an absolute pleasure to work with for books and every project we have. A treasure found!

April 5, 2014

Year first hired: 2014; hired more than once


Richard James: Transcending Gulag

I have been wanting a professional editor to look over my work for years. I stumbled onto Susan through the internet at the perfect time--serendipity at its best. Susan is incredibly skilled at what she does. I chose her mid-level service and it was amazing and helpful. Her breakdown of my writing strengths and weaknesses was a surprise and incredibly useful. I'm writing better already.

I had her edit my first novel and Book 2 of the set is next, after I apply what I learned from her. I have written a third novel and she will get that, too. I already recommended her to another writer and will continue to do so. I give her five stars!

October 1, 2014

Year first hired: 2014; hired more than once


Nancy DeMarco: Finding Sara

Susan served as reviewer for my debut novel, Finding Sara. She’s very easy to work with, and she provided a quick turnaround and a wonderfully thoughtful and insightful review. I highly recommend her.

September 1, 2012

Year first hired: 2012

Refresh to See More

View Our Project List!


Based in the United States.


adirondackediting@gmail.com

Protected by Copyscape

© 2013-2017 All Rights Reserved